ROAR Awards shortlist announced

In Orphan Drug Congress by Georgia

The Rare & Orphan Advocacy & Research  (ROAR) Awards have been hotly contested for a second year, and following over 1500 nominations the shortlist has now been compiled. (You can see last year’s winners here.)

This list is taken directly from peer nominations and so are a great reflection of the rare disease sector successes in the past year. The winners will be chosen by a peer-nominated judging panel and announced on day two of the World Orphan Drug Congress, running from 12-14 November.

The shortlist revealed:

Outstanding CRO

  • Orphan Reach
  • PRA
  • Premier Research
  • PSR-Agility
  • Quintiles

Outstanding Market Access

  • Evidera
  • Clinigen
  • Covance
  • Mapi
  • Navigant Consulting

Outstanding Innovation

  • Pfizer Inc. and the Global Medical Excellence Cluster (GMEC) for their collaboration aimed at accelerating the translation of basic science into a new generation of innovative medicines for rare diseases.
  • SOBI for their part in the Work on Mechanism of Coordinated Access for Orphan Medicinal Products
  • AstraZeneca and their driving force in Lipodystrophy CONNECT. Dr. Isupov was highlighted in terms of ensuring the data is accessible – even to competitive pharmaceutical companies.
  • PTC Therapeutics for their conditional marketing permission from European Commission for Translarna (ataluren) as this is the first DMD treatment approved in EU.
  • International Alliance of ALS/MND Associations (worldwide umbrella organisation of national ALS patient organisations) for the highly succesful Ice Bucket Challenge fundraising campaign.

Outstanding Patient Advocacy

  • AKU Society
  • Alstrom Syndrome UK
  • Findacure
  • Muscular Dystrophy Campaign
  • Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy

Inspirational Stakeholder of the Year

  • Dr Nick Sireau at Findacure
  • Dr Michael Kelly at CureDuchenne
  • Dr Serge Braun at Association Française contre les Myopathies
  • Nicole Boice at RARE Project

European Leadership Award

  • Yann Le Cam at EURORDIS
  • Dr Paul Lasko at iRDiRC
  • Robert Meadowcroft at Muscular Dystrophy Campaign
  • Prof Cassiman Jean Jacques at University Hospitals Leuven

Join us for the ROAR Awards in Brussels to see who wins and then network with the whole shortlist and your peers at the Back To The Future After Party. Book your place today for the World Orphan Drug Congress.